Monastery of Daou-Penteli

Department Archive
Collection Byzantine Research Fund
Reference No. BRF/01/01/01/122
Level Item
Place Daou Pendeli
Dates Mar. 1902
Creator Hasluck, Dr Frederick William
Comyn, Dr Charles Heaton Fitzwilliam
Scope and Content Plan of the monastic complex. This is a detailed ground plan of the Daou-Penteli monastic buildings. The drawing is entitled:'Church of the Ruined Monastery at Daou-Mendeli- Attica- Greece'. The monastic buildings are inscribed separately. Further annotation in pencil survives. F.W. Hasluck contributed to the survey of these buildings.
Further information The monastery of Daou-Penteli stands on the eastern slope of the Penteli mountain. Demetrios Anadromaris and Ioannis Alexinas restored the church of Tao, founded on the same location by a certain Iberian noble in the late 11th-early 12th c., during the second half of the 16th c. In 1565 the Athenian metropolitan Sophronios re-founded the restored church as the katholikon of a new monastic complex dedicated to Christ Pantokrator. The monastery of Daou (the name derives from the Iberian land of 'Tao') suffered severe damage by Algerian pirates at the end of the 17th c. The katholikon follows a type frequently characterised as 'Hagioreitikos'. The imposing central dome is supported by six pillars, a unique feature in Byzantine and post-Byzantine architecture in Greece. Parts of the impressive marble templon of the middle Byzantine church have been incorporated into the sixteenth-century masonry. The exonarthex is a later addition. Ruins of the monastic enclosure, the cells, the refectory, the stables and of a defence tower still survive in situ.
Reference 1903. BSA 9: pl.17. Link to article
Ευρετήριον των μνημείων της Ελλάδος :Μέρος Α, 1. Μεσαιωνικά μνημεία Αττικής. 183, εικ.245.
Ευρετήριον των μνημείων της Ελλάδος :Μέρος Α, 1. Μεσαιωνικά μνημεία Αττικής. 184, εικ.246.