Near View of the Byzantine Church at Daou Monastery

Department Archive
Collection BSA SPHS Image Collection
Reference No. BSA SPHS 01/0088.0674
Level Item
Description Glass negative, half plate size, a copy negative.
Dimensions 16 x 12 cm
Place Daou Pendeli
Dates 1902
Donor/Creator The British School at Athens
Project Daou-Pendeli Monastery Architectural Survey 1902
Scope and Content The original description in the SPHS register reads: "Attica: Byzantine church at Daou, nearer view".
Notes Date baseed on Comyn's and Hasluck's survey of the church - see Comyn, H. 1902/1903, 'Church of the Ruined Monastery at Daou-Mendeli, Attica', BSA 9: 388-390.
Further information The monastery of Daou-Penteli stands on the eastern slope of the Penteli mountain. Demetrios Anadromaris and Ioannis Alexinas restored the church of Tao, founded on the same location by a certain Iberian noble in the late 11th-early 12th c., during the second half of the 16th c. In 1565 the Athenian metropolitan Sophronios re-founded the restored church as the katholikon of a new monastic complex dedicated to Christ Pantokrator. The monastery of Daou (the name derives from the Iberian land of 'Tao') suffered severe damage by Algerian pirates at the end of the 17th c. The katholikon follows a type frequently characterised as 'Hagioreitikos'. The imposing central dome is supported by six pillars, a unique feature in Byzantine and post-Byzantine architecture in Greece. Parts of the impressive marble templon of the middle Byzantine church have been incorporated into the sixteenth-century masonry. The exonarthex is a later addition. Ruins of the monastic enclosure, the cells, the refectory, the stables and of a defence tower still survive in situ.
Reference 1903. BSA 9: pl.14. Link to article